Why Is MaryC?

December 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

I should probably explain the name of this blog.

I sometimes use the name Mary when I am pretending to be someone else, like when I order a cafe mocha with whipped cream from Starbucks because what’s the point of liquid chocolate without more sugar and fat on top. I use it out of laziness really, in order to avoid having to repeat my real name, which is unpronounceable even though it also is a four letter word. 

The Mary in the Mary, Mary Quite Contrary nursery rhyme was a whole different level of person though from me.

Mary, Mary, quite contrary,

How does your garden grow?

With silver bells, and cockle shells,

And pretty maids all in a row.

The garden is the graveyard, which keeps growing because of all the people Mary had beheaded, the silver bells and cockle shells torture instruments used on fingers and genitalia, and the maid or The Maiden the original name of the guillotine. Nice chick.

This isn’t just a mythical bitch. She had oodles of  power in the very literal sense of the term, and she lived in the sixteenth century, when it was okay to chop people’s heads off because you don’t like their religion or what they think or write or their hair colour. Most likely she was Mary I of England or as her other name suggests, Bloody Mary.

I wish I had known this before rushing to secure this blog name because I thought it sounded so cute and was somehow ‘so me.’ I also wonder if I had had some sort of Freudian slip, where I was somehow subconsciously aware of the meaning of the rhyme when I picked it. Maybe Bloody is my alter ego, the person I would have been if I had all that power and was inclined toward murder.

I also wonder how all those women whose name is Mary Contrary feel about it. Turns out there are quite a few of them on Facebook. Hmmm.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Is MaryC? at MaryC.

meta

