I’m Smarter Than I Look

December 27, 2013 § Leave a comment

“I’m smarter than I look,” Paul said while we were having a beer after work. The other two people at the table didn’t seem surprised by this statement, but I was and it must have shown all over my face. My eyes and eyebrows felt like they shifted up a bit on my head wormlike.

Paul doesn’t look dumb, so I assumed he meant he is pretty smart or at least he thinks he is. He is. It is a widely agreed to fact at work. He knows everything, and I mean everything, about how government works. Legislation, regulations, committees, who is who now and who was who back in 1986, and everything in between. Ask him anything and he always knows. He’s never wrong. 

The next day at work, he dropped by my desk. “Hey, how’s it going? Did you get home okay last night?”

“Sure, I did. It was almost 7:30 when I got home. Wild night. What’s up?”

“My computer crashed. They need to replace the entire hard drive. A virus.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. Someone sent me an email with an attachment called c:\virus.”

“And you opened it?”

“Yes, I did,” he said smiling knowingly. “Dumb huh?”

“Kinda.”

“Yeah. Hey do you want to take a long lunch? They won’t get the replacement until tomorrow, so I thought I would take a long lunch and then do my Christmas shopping.”

“You haven’t done your Christmas shopping yet and Christmas is tomorrow?”

“That’s right.”

“You didn’t plan this, did you?”

“Of course not,” he said.

That afternoon while Paul was shopping and I was in a series of meetings, I thought about how much I hate meetings and I like Christmas shopping.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m Smarter Than I Look at MaryC.

meta

