Old TV Shows Are Funny

February 10, 2014 § Leave a comment

I recently started watching Babylon 5. It’s a sci-fi series about a sort of mega UN in outer space with the daunting task of maintaining peace not just on Earth but on an interplanetary scale. Let me tell you that is pretty hard to do going by the number of episodes in the series (there are 110 of them) and the number of movies (five). 

It ran from 1994 to 1998. I feel the need to point this out because some readers may not have been alive back then. I certainly was, but I didn’t watch it because it’s sci-fi and I don’t care for it. Frankly, the universe in all of its vastness is kinda scary folks. Well, most of the time. There are exceptions: Star Wars and Battlestar Galactica (the new version, of course) because it would be insane not to love them.

Anyway, I got into it because a friend suggested it was pretty darn good (he used those words). I have only watched a few episodes so far and while I haven’t decided if I like it yet, I do appreciate these gems which I think are worth quoting for their pure silliness value:

“Leave me alone. I’m busy with 15 things and all of them are annoying.”

“If you’ll excuse me, I’ll be over there getting drunk with the rest of the idiots.”

“You’re starting to irritate me, Mister Franksen. I don’t like being irritated. It gives me gas.”

“It’s a Russian thing. When we’re about to do something stupid, we like to catalogue the full extent of our stupidity for future reference.”

“Is this a multiple choice question? Because I have some ideas.”

“I can only conclude that I am paying off karma at a vastly accelerated rate.’

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old TV Shows Are Funny at MaryC.

meta

